Re: Marketo Certification

Jessy_Chan1
Level 2

Marketo Certification

I have been using Marketo for about 4-5 years and have never taken any certification exam. Recently I am thinking of taking it but yet wonder if this is necessary. Can anyone who has been certified,  share your reason why you did it and how it has impacted you?  Thank you.

Tags (1)
19 REPLIES 19
Gerard_Donnell4
Level 10

Very quickly some points I would say are:

• You will learn things preparing for your test you didn't know, which will make you even better.
  • You will become more attractive to future employers.
  • Demonstrates your knowledge - Internal stakeholders will take your advice onboard more if they recognise you as a platform expert.
  • Makes you more of a lynchpin within your current org. Its harder to find and replace an MCE member of staff like for like, compared with a "marketing automation person".
  • It can help justify a pay rise.
  • You can more easily get another job. If applying for another Marketo job having an MCE cuts out a lot of needless questions to try and prove your knowledge, and can also help separate you from other people.
Brooke_Bartos1
Level 6 - Champion

Exactly this. Most job postings I see anymore state "Marketo experience required, MCE preferred." This immediately rises you to the top of candidacy.

I can also tell you that as soon as it is listed on your LinkedIn you'll have recruiters regularly in your inbox, but it ultimately comes down to what your career goals are. If you're looking for a raise or promotion in your current org, do it. If they're willing to pay for it, definitely do it. If you're thinking of making a move in the next 2 years (how long the cert is valid), do it. If none of these is a priority for you then it is more a personal preference.

Jessy_Chan1
Level 2

Hi Brooke, thank you for the advice.

Amy_Goldfine
Level 10 - Champion Alumni