Kara, I see. That means the DB size may inflate significantly soon. Maybe better is to download the stats via API and keep it at your own server for reference, while cleaning the Marketo DB. This will keep your database size lower, with no need to keep those dead leads. I haven't got such experience, but people have adviced so throughout the forum.
I have a close question. Do you really need to keep those suspended/unsubscribed/bounced emails in the database for the sake of statistics, or do you think it makes sense to clean up the database from time to time to lower the number of contacts, not to increase the contact number cap and pay extra? What is the best practice overall? Thanks.
Hi Stepan Egorov
- Unsubscribed - I would keep these persons in the database to ensure that this request is honored. If deleted and in future added again (for example they register for webinar and operational email will confirm registration) they would not be added to other communications causing angst and complaints.
- Hard Bounced/ Suspended - I don’t believe there is a one size fits all model for this and you would first need to look at whether the person was a prospect or a customer or a contact from business partner. As if for example they are a customer with a subscription then you should be following up by other means (phone call/ posted letter) to get their correct email to ensure you can reach them in future with important communications and invoices/subscription renewal notice. If they were a B2B prospect from a potential business customer then your sales rep should be alerted so they can contact business and find out details of replacement person. If they were a contact from a business partner and it was important they were kept informed then the contact in ypur organisation who owns that person/ relationship needs to be alerted so they can take steps to find out details of replacement person
i hope this helps.
Thanks Kara, I see now. With regard to the unsubscribed users - I personally don't see any point in keeping them. Once removed, they're added to the Durable Unsubscribe list. This means that if they're added back again, they are already set "unsubscribe = true".
My original question was rather - can removing users change the historic stats data?