SOLVED

UTM Stamping and SFDC Sync

Go to solution
LNeuman
Level 1

UTM Stamping and SFDC Sync

I'm new to my company and trying to figure something out. We have a contract vendor that's created a UTM stamping function for us based on form fills/links/email clicks (on a priority system). This information is desired to have in SFDC, so they created synced fields on the Lead/Contact objects for this.

However, the stamping function is slow - so much so that we have had to turn of the Program level SFDC Sync in order to let the UTM stamping function finish updating before the SFDC sync happens, in order to get the information across correctly.

The vendor is telling us that all of this - including the smart campaign driven, "manual" SFDC sync - is best practice, and I'd like community input on this, as well as if there are better solutions out there for capturing UTM Tracked Medium/Source values. 

Thanks for any insight!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Amanda_Reilly3
Level 3

Re: UTM Stamping and SFDC Sync

Agreed with all above, UTM stamping is pretty out of the box for Marketo so I'm unsure what the stamping process is. I've noticed with vendors that often times that less than optimal processes are set up because it's required for their reporting, but not yours. I would also argue that "manual" in a marketing automation system is not best practice. 

I also wanted to share a response I recently gave regarding how to set up UTMs and track in Marketo here: https://nation.marketo.com/t5/product-discussions/update-lead-source-most-recent-field-in-marketo/m-...

Not sure if you need the whole picture in one field, but you can easily concatenate a field with other fields into one place using tokens, such as a data value change flow step that uses tokens to populate the information, for example: 

UTM stamp new value is {{system.dateTime}} | {{lead.UTM Medium}} {{lead.UTM Source}} {{lead.UTM Campaign}}