Re: Email Recipient Claims Unsub Link Requires Scripting to Work

Denise_Greenbe7
Level 3

Email Recipient Claims Unsub Link Requires Scripting to Work

We just had an email recipient tell us that our unsubscribe link "does not work unless scripts are enabled." We have the unsubscribe link built into our footer using the system token rather than added by Marketo underneath. This is the code:

<a href="{{system.unsubscribeLink}}" style="color: #7a797a; text-decoration: none;">Unsubscribe</a><br /> <a href="https://area1security.com/privacy/" style="color: #7a797a; text-decoration: none;">Privacy Policy</a> | <a href="https://area1security.com/dpa/" style="color: #7a797a; text-decoration: none;">DPA</a></p>

I'm not a developer so I could be wrong but there's nothing in there that looks like "scripting" to me. Am I wrong? Does the the token require "scripting" of some kind enabled on the recipient platform to work? Was our recipient confused? I'm assuming she received the HTML version. The plain text version looks like this:

Unsubscribe: {{system.unsubscribeLink}}

Would it make a difference if we just let Marketo add this?

HTML:

<p><font face="Verdana" size="1">This email was sent to {{lead.Email Address}}. If you no longer wish to receive these emails you may <a href="%mkt_opt_out_prefix%UnsubscribePage.html?mkt_unsubscribe=1&mkt_tok=##MKT_TOK##">unsubscribe</a> at any time. </font> </p>

Text:

This email was sent to {{lead.Email Address}}. If you no longer wish to receive these emails you may unsubscribe here: %mkt_opt_out_prefix%UnsubscribePage.html?mkt_unsubscribe=1&mkt_tok=##MKT_TOK##.

Thank you!

6 REPLIES 6
SanfordWhiteman
Level 10 - Community Moderator

A Marketo-tracked link requires JS in order to navigate to the original target page.

So the "scripting" isn't in the email or email client but in the browser as a whole.

Denise_Greenbe7
Level 3

Hi Sandy,