SOLVED

Re: Email Bot Activity constraints impacting Email Performance Report Metrics

Go to solution
John_Potter1
Level 2

Email Bot Activity constraints impacting Email Performance Report Metrics

Hello Marketo Nation Community,

I'm an Admin in a client's Marketo subscription where we have been trying to understand a couple of things on how the "filter bot activity" setting impacts Email Performance Reports (EPR).

Just for context, since implementing the Match with IAB List / Match with Proximity Pattern features, the client decided to "Filter Bot Activity" for both options as they wanted as much of this bot activity removed from activity logs as possible. Done. However, we are still seeing some activity that may look bot related such as several clicks in email footer links that the proximity pattern is just not catching. It's expected that it will not be 100% accurate, right? But over time, this will improve with the technology.

But, knowing we are "filtering out all bot activity" at the admin level, why are we seeing a significant impact to "Sent/Delivered" metrics and slight discrepancies within "Opened/Clicked" numbers when we experiment with adding "Is Bot Activity is false" constraints to Opened/Clicked filters within the EPR Smart List? If these activities are being filtered out, then adding such a filter and constraint combinations should have no bearing on the resulting counts, correct?

Here's an example:

A standard EPR where ONLY a Region filter is being used to target AMER - notice the 10k+ counts for Sent/Delivered as well as the counts for Opened:

John_Potter1_0-1712090928628.png

Now, when adding the 2 Smart List filters: "Opened Email Is ...Is Bot Activity False" or "Clicked Email Is...Is Bot Activity False" as seen below....:

John_Potter1_2-1712091224152.png

The Sent/Delivered is a quarter of the count it originally was and the Opened has increased by 2 - and yes, the 4 emails listed in the filters are the same 4 emails shown in the report: