SOLVED

Re: Can you capitalize lead name token in email?

Go to solution
Anonymous
Not applicable

Can you capitalize lead name token in email?

If a lead enters their name in lowercase (john doe), how can I capitalize that token in an email (John Doe)? Is this something that can be fixed in form settings or should it be fixed in the HTML? I'm currently trying to fix it (unsuccessfully) in the HTML using the following:
<p><span class="text-transform:capitalize">Hey {{lead.First Name:default=there}}</span>,</p>

I have no coding background, so the HTML could be wrong. Any help is greatly appreciated!

Tags (1)
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
SanfordWhiteman
Level 10 - Community Moderator

@Tyler G also, the correct CSS would be 

style="text-transform: capitalize;"

However, this will be rendered in Outlook Web Access as if you used 'uppercase' (don't ask me why -- 'capitalize' has no kind of security implication I can think of).  By contrast, it works in Gmail.  YMMV.

View solution in original post

26 REPLIES 26
Kristen_Malkov1
Level 8

If you can do this, I'd love to know! 

Otherwise, I tend to take the time to standardize data using CRM fusion in Salesforce. 

Justin_Cooperm2
Level 10

It's Friday afternoon so I'll help you out!

You can use basic Java string manipulation in an Email Script token to do this. In your email program, click the "My Tokens" tab. Create a new Email Script token and name it what you'd like. In the script, enter:

#set($name = ${lead.FirstName})
$name.substring(0,1).toUpperCase()$name.substring(1).toLowerCase()

Note: Make sure you check the "First Name" checkbox in the right-hand tree under "Lead"!

Save the token and in your email asset, reference it as {{my.TokenName:default=Friend}} anywhere you like. It will output the first name of the lead with the first letter capitalized!

Email Scripts are your friend! Happy Marketing!

Noah_Wong1
Level 2

I keep getting this error message: