SOLVED

Re: Best Practices - Marketo for Internal Emails

Go to solution
Anonymous
Not applicable

Best Practices - Marketo for Internal Emails

Hello,

Recently, there have been a couple requests to send out internal (to employees) newsletters through Marketo.  There is no problem actually implementing this - I was just curious to hear people's thoughts on whether this is a good idea/bad idea and why.  It seems odd to me that Marketo and the Marketing Ops team would be used for internal only emails, but perhaps this is only becasue I've never used it this way before?

Thanks in advance!
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
SanfordWhiteman
Level 10 - Community Moderator

I can understand the appeal. If the Marketing people typically have another tool they use for mail blasts (or try to use Outlook or whatever) and they'd rather use the Marketo builder, it makes sense.

The drawbacks IMO are:
  • Moden internal mail servers like Exchange are storage-efficient when sending duplicate messages within the system, that is, if I send to 200 people the server only stores one copy of the message.   If you send from Mkto it's 200 different messages that are usually not deduped when stored.
  • You're using external Internet bandwidth that you would otherwise not -- but this is probably negligible.
  • You may have delays that you would otherwise not -- but only in rare cases.
  • You have to make sure that all these internal campaigns, including resulting clicks, are excluded from Mkto reports so you don't accidentally inflate Marketing effectiveness.
  • If you're syncing activities to SFDC these emails might look a little annoying/fluffy, maybe write a trigger to dump them.

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10
SanfordWhiteman

I can understand the appeal. If the Marketing people typically have another tool they use for mail blasts (or try to use Outlook or whatever) and they'd rather use the Marketo builder, it makes sense.

The drawbacks IMO are: