Re: Why is it much harder to create emails in Marketo than MailChimp?

Anonymous
Not applicable

Why is it much harder to create emails in Marketo than MailChimp?

I have no background as a developer, but I am in charge of my company's email program. I have a moderate amount of html, css, and javascript knowledge (self taught on the fly) and I am struggling with Marketo.

My company used to use MailChimp. Building emails was so easy: just drag and drop the type of block you want, the amount of columns, etc. Now in Marketo, it all has to be built by html coding. We've been with Marketo about a year and I have built out one pretty decent template, but now we are stuck using this template for every single email. Marketo is obviously a far superior platform, so why is little MailChimp beating them in actually building the emails?

We don't have a developer on hand and it isn't feasible for us to hire one. It just seems off to me that MailChimp, which cost a fraction of Marketo, was much more user friendly and let me build all types of customized emails in a snap.

Is anyone else struggling with this?

6 REPLIES 6
Anonymous
Not applicable

I have heard that a new versions of the email editor is on the way so this should be cleared up soon

Frank_Breen2
Level 10

This is definitely a draw back of Marketo, I actually based my Marketo Templates on the MailChimp Templates. Marketo doesn't really have the drag and drop facility on the Email side of thing, but how I go around that was I created my different layouts using Snippets and Tokens. My starting template has 3 key blank area's:

1. Header
  2. Main Body
  3. Footer