Re: Running Smart List Counts

Nina_Valtcheva5
Level 5

Running Smart List Counts

I often have to run counts to see how many leads will be in the target audience for our email lists, or for reporting purposes. However, it's very time consuming because I find myself having to wait it out on the Leads tab / Qualified Leads while the counts are calculating. But sometimes it takes over an hour and it's still calculating... If I click away from this tab and go do something else in Marketo, it never finishes calculating on its own. So it seems the only way to get the counts is to wait it out on the Leads tab, but then I can't do anything else in the meantime!

I am pretty new to Marketo so maybe I am missing something since it seems there should be an easier way to get list counts without it being so time consuming on my end. Any suggestions?
9 REPLIES 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

You can cache lists which may help for extremely large lists. Refereash to get more accurate numbers. For campaigns, you can look at qualified members.

Also, its pretty standard for Marketo users to have multiple browser tabs open on your instance so that you jump from tab to tab complete things. This would allow you to load your list while doing other activites elsewhere.
Nina_Valtcheva5
Level 5

Hi Tim,

Thanks for your help!

How can we cache lists in Marketo?

As for having multiple browser tabs open, I have tried that many times but I always get a 'Refresh your browser" type of error.
Bruce_Jeffers
Level 4

That seems like an extremely long amount of time to me.

Just curious -- how large is your database?  Because in my instance, it only takes a few seconds for my Smart Lists to calculate the total numbers when I add or modify criteria. Even with very complex smart list queries, it still never takes longer than 20-30 seconds.

Our database size is only 40K, so that could be much smaller than yours. Just wondering.

Btw, the way to cache a smart list is to Export it.

Nina_Valtcheva5