SOLVED

Need Help Using a Webhook to push leads into Cvent using their SOAP API

Go to solution
Anonymous
Not applicable

Need Help Using a Webhook to push leads into Cvent using their SOAP API

Hello!

Our Marketo & Cvent instances are already integrated, with Cvent being able to push leads to us via a triggered campaign using a Web Service API call. However, we would like to have all registration forms and what not on the Marketo side, so we can control campaign flow, and then push the registrants back into Cvent.

From the documentation I saw on Cvent, it looked like this would be something I could do with their SOAP API user, using a Marketo webhook. I was then provided info for their API user: an account, an Account, an API Username, and an API Password, along with their server URL.

That said, I'm new at webhooks, and I'm not sure I'm constructing it correctly...in that I know I'm not using it correctly, but I have no idea what I'm doing wrong. I set up the webhook like so:

URL: https://api.cvent.com/soap/xxxxxxx.ASMX?xxxx

Request Type: Post

Template: Account=accountName&Key=accountPassword&fieldX={{lead.fieldX}}&fieldY={{lead.fieldY}}&fieldZ={{lead.fieldZ}}

Request Token Encoding: JSON

Response Type: XML

I know this isn't right, but I modeled it off of another Webhook I saw, which is how I got 'account=xxx&Key=xxx'. But I don't really have a key provided, just the username and password, which, my understanding is, that I'll only have a key provided once I have a successful login?

Just to show you how not right it is, I ran a triggered campaign to call the webhook, and I get the following error, which I find very amusing: