SOLVED

Re: Marketo Email and Landing Page Templates in Japanese

Go to solution
Elise_Stieren
Level 2

Marketo Email and Landing Page Templates in Japanese

Hello, 

I will soon be tasked with building programs for our marketing partners in Japan. I have seen this post, but cannot determine my next steps. What does it mean "declare English target fonts before Chinese target fonts, because English language fonts do not contain the glyphs for Chinese characters, but Chinese fonts do contain a-z characters..."

I am NOT a developer but if I'm understanding the little bit of literature on this, it's looking like I need to create new asset templates as my current templates may not accommodate the distinct font families that work with the language in question's characters/glyphs.

Would love for someone to flesh out a step by step for this task? Again I'm not a developer, but if I know what needs to be done, I might be able to contract for one. 

Thank you!

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions
SanfordWhiteman
Level 10 - Community Moderator

What does it mean "declare English target fonts before Chinese target fonts, because English language fonts do not contain the glyphs for Chinese characters, but Chinese fonts do contain a-z characters..."

A user-agent (mail client, web browser, etc.) chooses a max of 2 fonts that may be the source of a given glyph:

1. the first font in the font-family list that is available as either a webfont, locally installed custom font, or system font (pre-installed in the OS)
  2. a fallback font, typically one of the OS-native fonts; it’s possible for there to be no fallback font, though

So let’s say you want to display the CJK ideograph (Unicode character 6C34) and your text also has the simple Latin-1 character W.