SOLVED

Re: Integrate Custom Objects in Marketo

Go to solution
Valerie_Armstro
Level 10 - Champion Alumni

Integrate Custom Objects in Marketo

Have you seen or implemented a way to utilize data from Salesforce Custom Objects in Marketo? Currently, I am blocked on four major projects for my company because Marketo does not have similar triggers, filters and tokens available for SFDC Custom Object data as it does for the Lead/Opportunity/Account.

So far, it seems the option we have is to pay for services to create and update scripts and APIs.  This is not ideal because it isn't scalable for future projects as the costs would continue to pile up as new projects come along or changes need to be made, as I'm unable to maintain this myself (I have no coding or API experience).

What solutions have you gone with to get SFDC Custom Object data into Marketo?  Is scripting and APIs the best solution for this? What else have you seen implemented to meet the goals of a project that utilizes data from SFDC Custom Objects?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Kenny_Elkington
Marketo Employee

Hi Valerie,

The solution I've leveraged before is to create a datetime field on your lead/contact records, Custom Object Updated At, and then create a workflow for when a custom object record gets updated, it writes the current time to your custom object updated at field.  You can then set up a trigger for this in Marketo, Data Value Changes: Custom Object Updated At to fire campaign whenever a new value synchs down for this.  If you need it, you can add a Has Custom Object Filter to set any additional conditions that you need from that record.

View solution in original post

19 REPLIES 19
Stijn_Heijthuij
Level 7

Hi Valerie,

I'm not sure how to get data into a Custom Object. With the upcoming release there will be more support for CDO's, but I'm still fuzzy on how to fill them.

Same thing goes for segmenting or decisions based on values in a Custom Object.