SOLVED

Re: How Marketo identify and merge the database with page visit behavior

Go to solution
Renee
Level 3

How Marketo identify and merge the database with page visit behavior

I am a beginner to Marketo. There are a lot of things to learn and catch up. 

Could someone help answer my questions as detailed as you can. Thank you advance. 

if we import a lead to Marketo and we have his email , name and some basic info. After one month, this lead comes to our website and accept the cookies, will we able to track his web visit behaviors? How Marketo associate these behaviors with this lead? Could someone explain the mechanism behind ?

The second scenario is 

when visitor first time enter our website and Marketo will create an anonymous activity and when this visitor fill out a Marketo form. This visitor would be merged to a known person in Marketo. I want to know how Marketo identify it? Is it done by sourcing the IP address to match between web visit and form info. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
SanfordWhiteman
Level 10 - Community Moderator

Hi and welcome to the Marketo community!

if we import a lead to Marketo and we have his email , name and some basic info. After one month, this lead comes to our website and accept the cookies, will we able to track his web visit behaviors? How Marketo associate these behaviors with this lead? Could someone explain the mechanism behind ?

It depends on how the lead comes to your website.

• If the lead follows a tracked link in a Marketo email (links are tracked by default), the link will include a special unique mkt_tok query parameter. If Munchkin, Marketo's analytics module, is running on your website, then the mkt_tok will be used to associate the Munchkin cookie with the lead in your database. Both previous and subsequent web activities will then be found in the lead's Activity Log.