SOLVED

Fewer People than Expected in Segments

Go to solution
Anonymous
Not applicable

Fewer People than Expected in Segments

Hello!

I've segmented the majority of the people in our instance into about 17 segments. As I created each segmentation, I made sure the number of people in each smart list was comparable to what I expected. When the segmentation approval process was complete, I had way fewer people than were originally reflected in the respective previews had indicated (for example, 2,200 versus 85,000). 

I created a draft out of the report and compared the numbers side-by-side and can't figure out why they aren't equal. 

I'm new to segments and segmentations, so this may be a rookie mistake. Thanks for your help!
Tags (1)
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Candyce_Coving1
Level 2

Re: Fewer People than Expected in Segments

Hi Maegan,
Within a given Segmenation, a lead can only be in one segment. When you are viewing the smart lists within the draft, a lead can qualify for more than one smart list. So for instance, if you have a lead that qualified for Segment 1 and Segment 3, when you are looking in the draft, they will be appear in both lists. However, when the Segmentation is approved, they will only be in the first one they qualify for (in this case, Segment 1). 

This is likely why your numbers are different. And, why the order of the Segments is very important. 
Regards,
Sheila

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
Candyce_Coving1
Level 2

Hi Maegan,
Within a given Segmenation, a lead can only be in one segment. When you are viewing the smart lists within the draft, a lead can qualify for more than one smart list. So for instance, if you have a lead that qualified for Segment 1 and Segment 3, when you are looking in the draft, they will be appear in both lists. However, when the Segmentation is approved, they will only be in the first one they qualify for (in this case, Segment 1).