SOLVED

Rounding numbers

Go to solution
Christin_Scholz
Level 2

Rounding numbers

Hi all,

how can I format a number in lead database like 58.5123434565 into 58,51 within the email?

I want to use it as currency in emails with comma (german way of writing).

I tried with the script token, but apparently it didn't work.

$math.roundTo( x, y )

Can you guys please help me on that? (I'm not a developer )

Best
Christin

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
SanfordWhiteman
Level 10 - Community Moderator

Re: Rounding numbers

You didn't specify banker's rounding or arithmetic rounding.

Either way you need a locale-specific format for Germany (de_DE).

Banker's rounding is the default mode (note this not a Marketo-specific thing, nor a Velocity thing, but across anything built on the Java foundation):

#set( $customFormat = $number.getNumberFormat("${esc.h}${esc.h},${esc.h}${esc.h}${esc.h}.00", $convert.toLocale("de_DE") ) )
banker's: ${customFormat.format($lead.SomeField)}‍‍‍‍‍‍

If you need arithmetic rounding (if neither you nor your manager is a developer or accountant, you probably meant arithmetic):

#set( $customFormat = $number.getNumberFormat("${esc.h}${esc.h},${esc.h}${esc.h}${esc.h}.00", $convert.toLocale("de_DE") ) )
#set( $void = $customFormat.setRoundingMode($field.in($customFormat.getRoundingMode()).HALF_UP) )
arithmetic: ${customFormat.format($lead.SomeField)}‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍

Update 2019-12-07: please read responses to your threads, it's very frustrating to take time to provide Correct answers and have the thread abandoned.

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
SanfordWhiteman

You didn't specify banker's rounding or arithmetic rounding.

Either way you need a locale-specific format for Germany (de_DE).

Banker's rounding is the default mode (note this not a Marketo-specific thing, nor a Velocity thing, but across anything built on the Java foundation):

banker's: ${customFormat.format($lead.SomeField)}‍‍‍‍‍‍