SOLVED

Re: Marketo Forms for known web users

Go to solution
Anonymous
Not applicable

Marketo Forms for known web users

I am very new to Marketo and trying to find the best approach to leveraging Marketo while minimizing custom development.  The first task is simply setting up subscription management within Marketo, which will later turn into a full preference center.

Since Marketo will manage the subscription status (and other attributes later), creating a form within Marketo makes sense.  What I'd like to know is how others have gone about implementing a similar solution for an authenticated user on a web site (which may also be across different domains).  Once a user logs into our website, I will know their email address, and need to set the context of the Marketo form to use that email address.

• I have tried to work with the munchkin API, but that utilizes cookies and I ran into problems when crossing domains.
  • I am looking at the REST API to get lead information, but passing information via a URL to a landing page would present a security/data integrity concern (anybody with HTML knowledge would be able to manipulate data of another individual).

Thanks in advance for your replies!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
SanfordWhiteman
Level 10 - Community Moderator

Don't even consider calling the REST API from the browser.  Proxying user actions hit-for-hit to the API is a DoS risk, way out in front of any data integrity risk.