SOLVED

Re: Implementing New Lead Scoring

Go to solution
Anonymous
Not applicable

Implementing New Lead Scoring

I am working on a new lead scoring program based on the imported program for standard and select.

I'm curious if anyone has any suggestions on how to handle the old lead scoring that was put in place about a year and half ago when the company purchased Marketo and before I was hired. I have been given the okay to scrap the old scoring program altogether and start fresh, but when it comes to our active prospects, I'm debating if I should really set them to 0.

Does anyone have any opinions on this? I am also new to Marketo so can anyone confirm that my new program would only be triggered moving forward?

Here is what we have currently scored on and we only populated 1 general lead score field.

Screen Shot 2015-05-19 at 4.00.57 PM.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Justin_Norris1
Level 10 - Champion Alumni

Julie Jabro

For your demographic scoring, make sure you add a "Campaign Is Requested" trigger in addition to whatever other data value change/lead is created triggers you might use.

You should then be able to set all leads to zero and re-run everyone through the new model and get them all to a level playing field.

For behavioural, this is a lot trickier. It IS possible to create a "backfill" version of your behavioural scoring model so you can re-run leads through it when the model changes. It is a reasonable amount of work but useful if you don't want to penalize existing leads by setting them all to zero.

Check out this post by Edward Unthank​:

How to Set Up Marketo Behavioral Lead Scoring Batch CampaignsEdward Unthank

I also sometimes use a separate scoring fields to track behaviours I want to score on incrementally like number of email clicks, number of webinars attended, or whatever. It effectively keeps a count of these behaviours for you. Then when you want to re-score them you can score based on that field.