Re: How to access custom object with intermediary object.

Anonymous
Not applicable

How to access custom object with intermediary object.

Hi,

I'm new to Marketo. I have to set up Maketo. Whereas my requirement is like. We have Leads, Course Registrations and Courses.

The structure should be like this below:

Lead
Course Registration (Custom Object)
Course (Custom Object)
LeadIdRegistrationId (Dedupe Field)CourseId (Dedupe Field)
NameLeadId (Link Field with Lead Object)CourseName
PhoneCourseId (Link Field with Course Object)LessonName1
CountryRegisteredDateLessonName2
EmailLessonName3
LessonName4
LessonDate1
LessonDate2
LessonDate3
LessonDate4

So each of lead can have multiple registrations whereas each registration should be connected to one course.

I have created above structure in Marketo and Add some dummy data for testing a campaign. I have to send a lesson reminder email of 24 hours, 12 hours, 6 hours, 3 hours and 1 hour to students who have registered for a course.

I have created a test campaign for the lesson1 reminder email and tried to access the course through script token but not able to access Course Fields because I can only see Course Registration Custom Object in RHS pane in the token editor.

Could you please help me here to access Lesson Name and Course Name from Course Object. And also suggest me that I'm using the right structure in Marketo for my requirement.

Thanks in Advance.

5 REPLIES 5
SanfordWhiteman
Level 10 - Community Moderator

You can't access 2nd-level objects from Velocity, so no, this isn't the right structure.

If you search past threads for "second level objects" or other variations, you'll see this discussed at length.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi Sanford,

Could you please tell me the right structure for this requirement.

Thanks

Grégoire_Miche2
Level 10

Have only 1 course registration object, linked to the person objet, and recopy into it all the fields of the course object that you might need.

-Greg