Hidden Fields not pulling through

GPover
Level 2

Hidden Fields not pulling through

Hi All, 

I'm a bit of a novice when it comes to all things Marketo. 

I'm currently trying to add some hidden forms to our brochure download form on our website so I can track where the customer came from prior to them filling in the form. E.g. did they originally come from Google Ads, Facebook or affiliate sites. 

I've added the hidden fields to the form. Previously I had the parameter name as Source and subsource but while trying to fix it myself I changed them to match the UTM tracking wording in the URL. I'm not sure if that is correct at all. 

GPover_0-1716908530226.png

When I've tested this with either of the parameter names it doesn't so any additional columns in the lists created from the form. I'm assuming that the additional fields I've added would automatically generate a new column on the list? And this is where I would check if the hidden fields are filling in properly. But I can't see any as of yet. 

My Dev team have added in some code but I wasn't sure if the name needed to match what I have as my Parameter name? So I'm not sure how best to advise them. 

GPover_1-1716908781850.png

Can anyone point me in the right direction? I've read a bazillion articles but haven't found anything to help so far!

Thanks in advance!

5 REPLIES 5
SanfordWhiteman
Level 10 - Community Moderator

Re: Hidden Fields not pulling through

Query parameter names don’t include delimiters like ? and &! They’re the names alone, like utm_medium and utm_campaign. (This isn’t a Marketo thing, it’s true of all URLs.)

When I've tested this with either of the parameter names it doesn't so any additional columns in the lists created from the form. I'm assuming that the additional fields I've added would automatically generate a new column on the list?

You add the columns to the view yourself. Marketo won’t add custom columns for you — that would mean all views would contain hundreds of columns.