SOLVED

Help with Velocity Script - multi-value field to array and printing split values to a table

Go to solution
mito
Level 1

Help with Velocity Script - multi-value field to array and printing split values to a table

Hello community. I am new to velocity scripting and working on printing split values from a multi-value field into a table. I have a few different approaches to the script but have been unable to get the results we are seeking. Would appreciate any help from the community.  

My multi-field value (Event_Sessions__c) is storing session preferences from a form field as 

10am session1; 11am session2; 12PM Session3;

This is my first iteration of the script but I keep getting errors: 

#if( $lead.Event_Sessions__c.isEmpty() )
#set( $lead.Event_Sessions__c = '[]' )
#end
#set( $EventSessions = $lead.Event_Sessions__c )
#set( $SplitEvents = $EventSessions.split(";") )
<table>
<tbody>
<tr>
<td>$SplitEvents[0]</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td>$SplitEvents[1]</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td>$SplitEvents[2]</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td>$SplitEvents[3]</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td>$SplitEvents[4]</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td>$SplitEvents[5]</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td>$SplitEvents[6]</td>
</tr>
</tbody>
</table>

any tips would be appreciated. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
SanfordWhiteman
Level 10 - Community Moderator

Re: Help with Velocity Script - multi-value field to array and printing split values to a table

Remember that “I keep getting errors” alone isn’t useful. Without knowing what the errors are, we have to run your code to even start seeing what you’re seeing.

I assume the errors you’re seeing from your 1st version are of the form Error invoking method 'get(java.lang.Integer)'. Such errors are expected when you try to access nonexistent array indices. There’s no guarantee at all that there will be anything beyond $SplitEvents[0] since you don’t know the number of sub-items in the string.