Header Images in Marketo Email Templates are "Tiling" in Outlook Desktop

Emily_Kendall
Level 2

Header Images in Marketo Email Templates are "Tiling" in Outlook Desktop

Hello Marketo Nation! 

I am having an issue with header images "tiling" in Microsoft Outlook 2016 desktop. Not happening anywhere else, just Outlook Desktop. The images are sized correctly in png format. 

Here is a link to a screen shot of what is happening: Screenshot, 2019-07-18 19:50:52 - Paste.Pics screenshot.png

HTML Code is attached as well. 

Any help is appreciated! 

5 REPLIES 5
J_Grant_Gray
Level 4

Re: Header Images in Marketo Email Templates are "Tiling" in Outlook Desktop

add style=""

background-repeat: no-repeat;

and see if this helps. 

Emily_Kendall
Level 2

OMG! Thank you for the quick response. I am not a coder...so forgive me when I ask where in the code I should insert that.  

Dave_Roberts
Level 10

Hey Emily,

If the issue you're running into is happening in Outlook and not other places, it likely has to do with the special Outlook code (vml) that's used to populate the background image instead of the CSS (background-repeat) like the rest of the "normal email universe". 

I had a look at your code and round-about line 210 you'll find the following chunk of code:

<!--[if gte mso 9]>
<v:rect xmlns:v="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:vml" fill="true" stroke="false" style="width:640px;height:300px;">
<v:fill type="tile" src="http://go.phillipsedison.com/rs/205-LAX-984/images/Ice Cream-1070-411.png" color="#4b4933" />
<v:textbox inset="0,0,0,0">

On line 3 above, you'll see the type="tile" attribute that's setting your image to repeat (tile). There's a few values for the type attribute, here's a link that's got a bit more info on that: https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/win32/vml/type-attribute--fill--vml