Re: Disable cookie tracking on an embeded form

Jeff_Bedford
Level 2

Would it work to have folks download the Ghostery plugin and block Marketo from loading through the browser that way?

SanfordWhiteman
Level 10 - Community Moderator

How could that possibly be easier than using the standard and simple Referral Form technique?

Jeff_Bedford
Level 2

I'm not sure what you mean. Ghostery was a bad idea because it blocked the form all together. I would love to know more about said Referral Form Technique - I'm brand new to Marketo.

SanfordWhiteman

The basic Referral Form pattern is implemented using the exact code Kenny provided above!

(Ghostery is an even worse idea than you're thinking, because even if you managed to whitelist Marketo forms while blacklisting Munchkin, that doesn't actually prevent the Munchkin cookie from being set on another page and sent along with the form -- it's not really germane to the problem.)

Jeff_Bedford
Level 2

Thank you!

Jeff_Bedford
Level 2

So we implemented the script, and now a small sample of submissions are not passing required fields to our email notifications. Kind of interesting. It does seem like Marketo captured the data though.

SanfordWhiteman

The JS doesn't affect which fields are required or not, unless the code was implemented incorrectly and is throwing errors (any code errors can in turn short-circuit validation code that hasn't run yet, but they aren't directly related to each other).

And if the field values were passed to Marketo (visible in the Activity Log detail for the Filled Out Form activity) then they were populated on the lead. The JS can't interfere with that after the fact.

Jeff_Bedford
Level 2