Re: Webhook for external form?

Dipika_Rang
Level 2

Webhook for external form?

Hi Folks,

What would be the best way to post data from a Marketo form submission to a non- Marketo form on another platform? To be more specific, as an example, I would like a form submission on this page:

https://pages.brainshark.com/TEST-ONBOARDING-EXPERIENCE.html

(a Marketo form)

to result in a form submission on this page:

http://www.brainshark.com/trainandcoach/register/1?8901946

(a non-Marketo form)

I believe a webhook might be an option here, but I want to confirm before I go down that path. If there's a better way to do this, or if there are other factors I need to be aware of, can someone please provide some guidance? I am not a developer, so please keep that in mind when responding:)

Your help is much appreciated!

Tags (2)
6 REPLIES 6
SanfordWhiteman
Level 10 - Community Moderator

A webhook will be fine for this case.

Your template would look like

txtCompanyId=2770814&txtDestination=0&txtDestinationUrl=&txtPrototypeUserId=8901946&bSubmitted=1&hidSubmitAddAnother=&hidDistrType=&txtFirst={{lead.First Name}}&txtLast={{lead.Last Name}}&txtEmail={{lead.Email Address}}&txtEmailConf={{lead.Email Address}}&txtTitle=&txtDept=&txtUserCompanyName={{company.Company Name}}&txtPhone={{lead.Phone Number}}&txtAddress1={{lead.Address}}&txtCity={{lead.City}}&txtState={{lead.State}}&txtPostalCode={{lead.Postal Code}}&txtUsername={{lead.Email Address}}&bAutoLogin=0

And the Request Token Encoding is Form/Url, method is POST.

The only time a webhook can't be used for a standard (that is, x-www-form-urlencoded) form POST is when the server requires some sort of session authentication. This isn't usually the case with lead gen forms because of the nature of the interaction. (It also should be noted, if authentication were required, a cross-origin post entirely from the browser wouldn't work for the same reason.)