Upload Html into Marketo

Anonymous
Not applicable

Upload Html into Marketo

Hi,

I'm a new designer to Marketo, but I've used other CRM's like Watson™ Campaign Automation (Silverpop). I've always been able to start/create the email code in Dreamweaver and package a zip of the html and images to upload into the email sending program. We have a bunch of emails built in dreamweaver, but I'm not seeing an option to upload those into our new Marketo account. I'm not sure the best practice to get our emails working in the Marketo system.

-Mel

2 REPLIES 2
Chris_Saporito
Level 9

Re: Upload Html into Marketo

Hi Mel,

If you navigate to Design Studio and then the Emails section and finally Templates, you are able to create a new template using the code from Dreamweaver. Another solution for one-off type emails is when you edit the email, there is an "Edit Code" but in the top-middle of the editor screen where you can drop in the HTML. Hope this helps.

Best,

Chris Saporito

Dave_Roberts
Level 10

Re: Upload Html into Marketo

Hey Mel-

There is some documentation you'll want to refer to here (bookmark worthy): Email Template Syntax - Marketo Docs - Product Documentation

In Marketo, the email template world is divided into 1.0 and 2.0 environments. You may need to activate EM 2.0 to take advantage of the newest editor (highly recommended), here's a little more info on that: Turning On/Off Email Editor 2.0 - Marketo Docs - Product Documentation

There is some nuance to be aware of in the syntax you'll need to use to get things working from Dreamweaver into Marketo. The key differences between a 'raw' HTML template (from Dreamweaver, platform agnostic) and a Marketo HTML template is calling out the editable areas. In the case of email 2.0, there's also a layer of variables available to deploy via <meta> tags in the head.