Re: Salesforce Implementation with 3-year old Marketo Database

Megan_Reed1
Level 4

Salesforce Implementation with 3-year old Marketo Database

We just purchased Salesforce, but have been using Marketo for 3 years so we have a good amount of data in Marketo. We are in the initial planning stages for our Salesforce implementation and I am concerned with syncing our current Marketo database with Salesforce since I have never worked with Salesforce before. What problems should I expect to run into and how can I prevent them?

14 REPLIES 14
Anonymous
Not applicable

Well, you should not expect to have any problems except you need to manage the sync process from both the marketo side and the sfdc side.  From Marketo you need to determine when leads should be synced to SFDC, based on lead score, behavior, deomgraphics etc...  From SFDC you need to create the appropriate user profile to integrate with Marketo, one that has access to only the set of leads you want synced back to Marketo

Grégoire_Miche2
Level 10

Hi Jamie,

Unfortunately, this is not that nice

Expect 2 types of issue that are specific to the "post go live" sync, when your Marketo database is already fully loaded:

Duplicates

If you have imported your leads and contacts in Marketo, when you will connect the 2 software, These leads and contact will be created again and not deduplicated by Marketo. So all these leads and contacts will be created a second time. You will suddenly see your database double in size. You will have to merge this ASAP as you cannot live with a database were almost 100% of records have duplicates. The good news is that Marketo is offering a service (for a fee), call easy merge, that can help.

Data model.