Re: Problems A/B Testing in a Smart Campaign

Anonymous
Not applicable

Problems A/B Testing in a Smart Campaign

Can someone please help? I'm new to using Marketo and we set up two of our emails (both within separate smart campaigns) to have A/B subject line testing. We set the distribution to 20%/80% but only one subject line was sent. This happened for both smart campaigns.

These are the test results I see on my dashboard:

A-B Subject Line Test.JPG

Here is what my campaign set up looks like (there are triggers set up in the flow, which aren't shown here):

Accelerator Campaign.JPG

Here is what I see when I set up an A/B test in my smart campaign email:

Accelerator SL Test.JPG

I'm not sure why there is a "Champion" already defined on this screen, but it's defaulting to the subject line that I used when I created the email. Should "Champion" be left blank and I define two Challengers?

Thank you for any help you can provide!

Tags (2)
8 REPLIES 8
Jenn_DiMaria2
Level 10

It looks like you've created a Champion/Challenger (within an already-existing Program) as opposed to an A/B Test (within an Email Send Program). They function slightly differently, so the setup also looks slightly different.

The dashboard you provided only shows opens (not sends), which means it's possible people received the Challenger email, but didn't open it. Can you run a report?

Anonymous
Not applicable

Thank you for responding, Jennifer. Where would I go to run a report manually? It looks like we have the report set up to be sent to us later today, but if I can pull it manually I'll look at it now.

Anonymous
Not applicable

In reading through the help articles, I see that we're supposed to declare a winner​, but I'm not fully understanding that process. The article states we select the winner of our choice, but shouldn't the winner be declared automatically based on the 20%/80% scale we set?