Merge Leads Error

Anonymous
Not applicable

Merge Leads Error

I keep getting random "Failed to merge leads [****]" errors and I'm trying to understand the nature of the error.   Is this a problem with the records?  Salesforce permissions?  Issues with the records in Salesforce (merging them violates a validation rule or something)?

I'm new to Marketo... are the numbers supposed to have any significance to me?

Any direction is appreciated.  Thanks.

pastedImage_1.png

pastedImage_0.png

pastedImage_2.png

1 REPLY 1
Casey_Grimes
Level 10

Re: Merge Leads Error

Hi Tim,

So, there's a few possibilities here, but most of them are in fact going to involve Salesforce—the error numbers you're seeing are actually different lead IDs, which means that particular lead can't have data merge into it.

1. Check to see if your Salesforce sync is working to begin with. Are there any new notifications when you log in to Marketo? When you go to the admin section, do you see that your sync is turned off or hasn't synced in a while?

2. What type of records are you trying to merge together? In Marketo, you can only merge in three possible ways:

• Non-SFDC record (never associated with a corresponding lead or contact) and a Salesforce Lead
  • Non-SFDC record and a Salesforce Contact
  • Salesforce lead with another Salesforce lead

If you try other types of merges, such as Salesforce Contact with another Salesforce Contact or Salesforce Lead and Salesforce Contact, the system will stop you.

3. Does your Salesforce sync user have the correct permissions set up? The sync users needs field-level access to edit all fields for merges, even if it doesn't write into those fields normally, in order to correctly process merges.