SOLVED

Re: Has anyone been successful in adding Gmail annotation to a Marketo email template?

Go to solution
lillyfalcon
Level 3

Has anyone been successful in adding Gmail annotation to a Marketo email template?

Hi 

I'm new to the Marketo Community and not sure if this the best board to ask questions about Marketo email templates. 

We are a adding a new modular email template to Marketo with Gmail Annotations but getting this error message: 

"Marketo does not allow javascript or script tags in email HTML. Please refresh your browser."

Has anyone had a similar problem? Thank you 🙂

Lilly Falcon
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
SanfordWhiteman
Level 10 - Community Moderator

Re: Has anyone been successful in adding Gmail annotation to a Marketo email template?

Yes, you can use Gmail Annotations in Marketo emails.

The problem is you're choosing the JSON-LD format for your annotations (which isn‘t the only format) and Marketo mistakenly thinks JSON-LD, which uses a <script> tag to create an HTML data block, is instead an executable script. In reality, it’s not executable and poses no security concern.

You can skip this check by adding the <script> tag to the <head> of the template and putting an Email Script {{my.token}} inside it.  The {{my.token}} contains the JSON.

View solution in original post

16 REPLIES 16
Floyd_Alvares2
Level 8

Hi @lillyfalcon 

I believe Marketo does not allow for <scripts> to be included into the HTML templates. This is more form a security risk point of view.

I am assuming your Gmail annotation has scripts - which is why you are receiving this error.

Thanks

Floyd

lillyfalcon
Level 3

Thank you so much for your help, Floyd! Yes it does 🙂 

Lilly Falcon
SanfordWhiteman

Yes, you can use Gmail Annotations in Marketo emails.