SOLVED

Form Pre Fill with Someone Else's Info

Go to solution
Anonymous
Not applicable

Form Pre Fill with Someone Else's Info

Hi Everyone,

We just had an instance where someone within our organization went to view a landing page with a form, but the form pre-filled with information from one of our customers. The person viewing the form confirmed that they've never filled out a form with this person's information on their behalf on the computer they were viewing this page on. We've went and tested other individuals in our organization to see what populates for them, and for everyone else their own information populated.

Would anyone have any insight into why this would occur for one person and not for anyone else?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
SanfordWhiteman
Level 10 - Community Moderator

Re: Form Pre Fill with Someone Else's Info

This only happens if someone has previously identified her/himself as another lead.  This doesn't only mean filling out a form.  It may mean clicking a link in an email originally sent to someone else.

View solution in original post

2 REPLIES 2
SanfordWhiteman
Level 10 - Community Moderator

Re: Form Pre Fill with Someone Else's Info

This only happens if someone has previously identified her/himself as another lead.  This doesn't only mean filling out a form.  It may mean clicking a link in an email originally sent to someone else.

View solution in original post

Mike_Reynolds2
Level 10

Re: Form Pre Fill with Someone Else's Info

One of the most common ways it happens is with the link clicks like Sanford Whiteman​ talks about. Hyperlinks in emails are decorated with tracking data appended to the end of the URL. That's what's used to identify the click activity in the lead record, and each tracking token is specific to the lead record the email is sent to. Now, let's say the lead it's sent to forwards the email to other people, or even just takes the hyperlink out and sends it separately in some other way. The tracking token appended to the URL goes with it, so anyone clicking that link will be identified as the lead specified by the tracking token.

It's a fairly common issue, so our Product Docs team created this doc showing how to disable that tracking: Disable Tracking for an Email Link - Marketo Docs - Product Docs

Just note that if you disable tracking, it disables it for all link clicks including the first initial recipient.