SOLVED

Creating Unique Tracking Links to Determine Traffic from Third-Party Promotions

Go to solution
Alex_Walsh
Level 1

Creating Unique Tracking Links to Determine Traffic from Third-Party Promotions

Hi,

I am brand new to Marketo and I am trying to understand if/how I can set up unique tracking links or custom redirect link to determine incoming traffic from various third-party promotions we are using. In the automation tool I used previously, we would just create a unique tracking link for each third-party and they would use that link to drive traffic back to our landing page through various promotional channels (banners, emails, etc.). I am trying to set something similar up in Marketo and I am wondering how to create this type of link. I have seen how to create tokens for tracking in emails, but have not been able to find anything to address this problem (unless there is a way to use tokens for this). Does anyone have a process for doing this?

Thanks,

Alex

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Rachel_Noble
Level 9 - Champion Alumni

Re: Creating Unique Tracking Links to Determine Traffic from Third-Party Promotions

Alex,

Where are you looking to track this? You can use standard URL building convention (Marketo will generate this for you: Using the URL Builder - Marketo Docs - Product Docs)  to create custom links for each third-party source. Depending on how you want to set this up, you can set up a campaign to listen for these visits, either with constraints that reference these URLs or by entering in the entire URL directly.

pastedImage_1.png

You can also add this filter to a Web Page Report if you don't need to act on it.

Is this what you were looking for?

Rachel

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
Rachel_Noble

Re: Creating Unique Tracking Links to Determine Traffic from Third-Party Promotions

Alex,