Re: Change/Edit API user name for launchpoint integration

BMaharjan
Level 1

Change/Edit API user name for launchpoint integration

Hi friends,

I am new to Marketo and have a few questions related to API user names used for launchpoint integrations.

Situation: We have API usernames which is linked to former employee's email address so need to change them.

Questions:

• Can we just edit/change API user name (which is an email)? Is it going to impact the connection?
  • If it is not as easy as just editing the user name/email, what is the step by step process to change API user name?
  • Do we need to be wary of day and time to make this update?

Any help is appreciated. Thank you!

7 REPLIES 7
Darshil_Shah1
Level 10 - Community Advisor + Adobe Champion

You cannot edit the API user that is being currently used by a launchpoint service. You'd need to remove  respective launchpoint service (or link it with the another API user temporarily) first in-order to update the API user. It's worth mentioning that deleting an existing launchpoint service would disrupt all the integrations referencing the respective service's credentials (something that you'd not want).

FYR - API users are never sent an email from Marketo and hence it does not need to be an active email address.

BMaharjan
Level 1

Hi @Darshil_Shah1 , Thank you for your response. 

It seems email address that former employee used were working emails so we are needing to change API user names.

In case if any integration error occurs where are those emails sent to? I am trying to understand if any Marketo information could be forwarded to the user name (email address) that are being used as API user name.

Darshil_Shah1