Re: Please help: Product Docs doesn't answer my question

Anonymous
Not applicable

Please help: Product Docs doesn't answer my question

Hello and thank you in advance for your time!

My colleague and I have been using Marketo for 3-6 months, but only for email blasts, because we cannot figure out how to build more sophisticated automation with the resources we've been given. We've done the Learning Lab, read the Product Docs, and even scoured Josh Hill's Marketo Rockstar Guide. We cannot figure it out.

Would you please explain how to create the following:

1) Send an email to XXXX leads

2) If email is opened, but no link clicked, send a new email

3) If email is opened and the link is clicked, send a follow up email

4) If email is unopened, resend email in X days with new subject line

I feel like if we can get this up and running, we can do anything! But right now - we just can't grasp smart campaigns, batch, trigger... what we've attempted hasn't worked. Please help ... in plain English! 😃

Thanks again!

-Amanda

Tags (1)
8 REPLIES 8
Grégoire_Miche2
Level 10

Hi Amanda,

The doc does not cover Marketo campaign architecture. And it takes time and experience to be at ease with this exercise.

Consider triggers as a monitoring device that waits for a specific event to happen and, when it happens, to triggers (hence the name) a flow of successive actions for the lead for which the event happens. You can consider that a trigger is a real time reaction to the event. On the opposite, a batch campaign is a flow of actions that is executed for a whole set of leads at the same time, and which starts when YOU (the user) decides.

In your case, as often in Marketo, there are more than one way to do what you want, which makes it difficult. Here is one

1. In any case you need a batch that selects the XXX leads and sends the first email. That's one smart campaign or event a email program type.