SOLVED

Re: New user, looking for documentation

Go to solution
Anonymous
Not applicable

New user, looking for documentation

I recently started working on an existing project already using Marketo. However I've never used Marketo before and would like to review documentation to make sure that our implementation is correct. I see that there's a University tab at the top of the page here, but it also seems that it mostly contains links to video instead of actual text documention. I'm not really interested in sifting through videos to find what I'm looking for. I want to be able to search and copy/paste if need be.

Could someone tell if me if there is a link to a PDF file or HTML page that I can used as documentation reference? Please and thank you.

On a side note I'm really surprised that Marketo doesn't provide documentation online. I googled for "Marketo Developer Docs" and found only 3rd party links, none of which contained documentation on the core Marketo product. That's a big oversight and one that you should consider addressing. As a developer I want to know how I'll be implementing something before I'd be willing to sign off on purchasing it.
Tags (1)
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Jep_Castelein2
Level 10

if you have your own forms on your website but you want to post into Marketo, you have multiple options:
1.       Change the form to post into Marketo directly; you need to make sure the field names exactly match the Marketo specs (see “Marketo Forms on Non-Marketo Pages”). In your case, you may want to use Webhooks to post into your own system
2.       Have your server-side application capture the initial form submission but repost to Marketo on the server (server-side form post)
3.       Use the Marketo SOAP API to create new Leads or updates existing Leads; has more advanced options, but does not give a “Fills Out Form” event (see “Marketo Enterprise SOAP API”)