SOLVED

"Add to SFDC Campaign" Flow Step Assignment Rules

Go to solution
Highlighted

"Add to SFDC Campaign" Flow Step Assignment Rules

When I'm using the "Add to SFDC Campaign" flow step, and the lead isn't already in SFDC, I just learned that this step will sync the lead to SFDC.

What are the assignment rules it uses though? Does it use the auto-assign rules that are created so the correct sales owner will be applied?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Level 7 - Champion Alumni

Re: "Add to SFDC Campaign" Flow Step Assignment Rules

Brian is correct. To take his answer a touch further, if for some reason you don't have lead assignment rules firing properly in Salesforce it will be assigned to what is called the "Default Lead Owner" in Salesforce.

It's not just "Add to Salesforce Campaign" that uses what is called "implied Salesforce actions". All of the following flow steps will sync the lead to Salesforce first before running the flow step if the person is not already synced to Salesforce:

Add to Salesforce Campaign

Change Status in Salesforce Campaign (this will sync them AND add them to the campaign first)

Change Owner

Convert Person

Create Task

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
Highlighted
Level 6 - Champion Alumni

Re: "Add to SFDC Campaign" Flow Step Assignment Rules

Hey Brett,

Your assignment rules (depending on where they live) should still action based on whatever normally triggers them. So could be done in Marketo or in SFDC on creation. My recommendation is to test a record in your instance to verify that assignment is occuring as expected in this scenario. If it's not working as expected, troubleshoot from there.

Highlighted
Marketo Employee

Re: "Add to SFDC Campaign" Flow Step Assignment Rules

Hi Brett, the SFDC auto-assignment rule will be used.

Highlighted
Level 7 - Champion Alumni

Re: "Add to SFDC Campaign" Flow Step Assignment Rules

Brian is correct. To take his answer a touch further, if for some reason you don't have lead assignment rules firing properly in Salesforce it will be assigned to what is called the "Default Lead Owner" in Salesforce.

It's not just "Add to Salesforce Campaign" that uses what is called "implied Salesforce actions". All of the following flow steps will sync the lead to Salesforce first before running the flow step if the person is not already synced to Salesforce:

Add to Salesforce Campaign

Change Status in Salesforce Campaign (this will sync them AND add them to the campaign first)

Change Owner

Convert Person

Create Task

View solution in original post

Highlighted

Re: "Add to SFDC Campaign" Flow Step Assignment Rules

So we ran into a little issue, maybe y'all can help with.

We ran an email program inviting people to an event. We wanted the SFDC campaign to show 'Invited' in Marketo but not yet sync the person to SFDC until they've reached the score threshold. Are there any flow steps available to do that? Update a Marketo lead with a SFDC campaign field without syncing to SFDC.

Highlighted

Re: "Add to SFDC Campaign" Flow Step Assignment Rules

Hi Brett,

There is absolutely no wayto do this. Adding the lead to the SFDC campaign will also obvisouly push that lead to SFDC, otherwise, how could that person be a member of the SFDC campaign ?

What you can do is NOT sync'ing your Marketo program with an SFDC campaign, then adding the people to the program as members in the invited status. Then force a sync to the campaign when you reach another, higher, member status.

And vote here :

-Greg

Highlighted

Re: "Add to SFDC Campaign" Flow Step Assignment Rules

Thanks Grégoire Michel . I admit, I'm grasping here.

Would this check be enough to prevent the sync to SFDC and only update the campaign status of those actually in SFDC? Or does the 'Change Status' flow step automatically sync?

Screen Shot 2018-02-20 at 2.01.25 PM.png

Highlighted

Re: "Add to SFDC Campaign" Flow Step Assignment Rules

Hi Brett,

Next time, better to open a new thread that reopeing a closed one.

With your flow step, the change status will only run for people whose score is 75 or more, so the others willl not be pushed to SFDC  nor will they be added to the campaign.

-Greg