AnsweredAssumed Answered

Should I see an error message when editing person details after blocking updates from that source?

Question asked by Paul Seiler on Feb 13, 2019
Latest reply on Feb 13, 2019 by Sanford Whiteman

I have a question about the "Block Updates From" function in the filed management area of the admin menu. As part of implementing the sync solution between Marketo and MSDynamics I want to prevent Marketo users from "accidentally" changing data that comes from the CRM (e.g. Student ID). Having blocked field updates from this source, I was surprised to find that I can still edit the fields and the values appear to change. However, the changes doesn't stick and the activity log show no such activity, not even the failed attempt. Yet no error message was displayed. So no change was saved but neither did I receive an error or warning. Is this the expected (or correct) behaviour?

Outcomes