3 Replies Latest reply on Aug 4, 2017 10:11 AM by Josh Hill

    Contacts in Salesforce not synced to Marketo

    Marty Chang

      When I enabled the Salesforce sync in Marketo, the sync completed without any obvious errors. All of my Lead records in Salesforce came over, but none of my Contact records made it. Can anyone tell me whether this is expected behavior?

       

      I did confirm that the ongoing sync works fine in all of the following scenarios.

      • Create a new lead
      • Update an existing lead
      • Delete an existing lead
      • Convert an existing lead into a contact
      • Update the contact converted from an existing lead

       

      But after all this the contacts that existed when I first turned on the sync are still not in Marketo.

        • Re: Contacts in Salesforce not synced to Marketo
          Josh Hill

          Your Marketo User Profile doesn't have access to your SFDC Contact/Account/Opps so you need to fix that.

           

          Then your data should flow over to Marketo.

            • Re: Contacts in Salesforce not synced to Marketo
              Marty Chang

              Thanks for the reply, Josh, but the profile does have full access—Modify All—to the Contact object in Salesforce. In my testing, as described in my original question, when I convert a lead in Salesforce, the resulting contact is synced correctly to Marketo. When I update that same contact in Salesforce, the lead in Marketo gets updated as expected by the sync. So I don't believe it's a permission or record visibility problem.

                • Re: Contacts in Salesforce not synced to Marketo
                  Josh Hill

                  There could be lots of reason. Are you sure the sync process completed?

                   

                  Are you using SFDC Type=Contact in Marketo to verify this?

                   

                  Did you setup anything special in SFDC or Marketo to block some records from syncing? Often people mark some records as Do Not Sync=T and it is not visible to Marketo User; and there are ways to do that in Marketo too. With a new instance, I wouldn't expect this and it would seem you would have known about it during setup.

                   

                  without knowing more, I'd suggest calling Support or your implementation specialist to dig in further.