That means that you're trying to edit a shared version of an asset. Instead, you need to edit the segmentation in the workspace where the segmentation lives, not in one of the workspaces it is shared with.
Awesome! We've been trying to figure this out for a few weeks (not kidding). I should have posted in the community as soon as the problem was discovered.
Thank you Tim!