Passing UTM values to iframe embedded forms

Anonymous
Not applicable

Passing UTM values to iframe embedded forms

I'm currently looking to pass UTM values from URLs through hidden form fields. I'm currently testing various things and have used the script provided here​ by Ryan Vong​ to capture the UTM values in a cookie.

It works on Marketo landing pages, but not currently on our main website, where we have Marketo forms embedded in iframes. As the form is not directly on the page, it can't 'see' the UTM values so isn't able to collect them.

I'm sure there is a workaround, but as I'm not a developer it would take me some time to figure out - I'm hoping a member of the community may already have a solution!

Thanks in advance.

18 REPLIES 18
Josh_Hill13
Level 10 - Champion Alumni

Re: Passing UTM values to iframe embedded forms

Look for Sanford Whiteman 2 (FigureOne)​ 's solutions. I'd also suggest hiring a developer or asking webdev to help.

SanfordWhiteman
Level 10 - Community Moderator

A not uncommon problem, and thanks Josh for the @.

Passing the query string from the outer document to an inner IFRAME is as simple as augmenting the src of the IFRAME. However, you do not want to do this after the IFRAME has loaded, or you will cause it to reload, creating visible overhead for the lead and extraneous hits on the server. Instead, what I typically do is create a DIV container for the IFRAME on the page, with the base information hard-coded:

<div class="iframe-container" data-iframe-src="http://example.com/iframe.html" data-iframe-width="100%" data-iframe-height="700" data-iframe-frameborder="0"></div>

Then use JS to inject the IFRAME inside that container when we have the query string to add to the src.

Ande_Kempf
Level 2