local-assets.png

Local vs Global assets in Marketo

Hi everyone,

My name is Razvan Luciu, and I am a Marketo Certified Expert, and this is my very first post here in the Community. In the last two years, I have often read the posts here in the Community, and I want to thank all those who contribute.

Through this first post, I will start a series in which I would like to share with you my experience, and the topics I will address will be for those who are now learning Marketo, such as the one in front, but also some more complex ones in case of need.

Today I would like to talk about Local vs Global assets in Marketo, and I invite you to share, from your experience, the cases when you used a local or a global asset.

First, we need to answer the following questions:

1. Q: What is an Asset?

A: An Asset is an item that serves as content in your Marketo instance (e.g., email, landing page, smart campaign, etc.)

1. Q: What is a Local asset?

A: The Local asset is an asset that is utilized within a specific program.

1. Q: What is a Global asset?

A: The Global asset is created in the Design Studio for use in programs across your Marketo instance.

To find out more definitions of other Marketo terms, feel free to read the Marketo glossary page.

Local assets

Local assets are customizable content items that help you build the campaigns and are localized within a specific program. Please see the below image for the most used local assets that you can create in a program:

local-assets.png

Notes: Not all customers have access to every available asset.

Global assets

The Global assets are localized in the Design Studio tab in Marketo, and they can be either simple assets or template assets. The Design Studio is Marketo's digital asset manager, which holds images, files, and global assets:

global-assets.png