Presently we cannot delete an entire category or move templates in bulk to a new category.
What you can do, is edit each template within the Category to either an existing Category name or a brand new name. This will move all of your existing templates into a different folder. Once the folder is empty, it will disappear.
We are working on adding the ability to do this in bulk, but for the time-being this is how you can remove/edit categories.