SOLVED

marketoGUID

Go to solution
Samantha_Cossum
Level 3

marketoGUID

Hi all,

This may be a silly question but I'm just getting into learning API call as my company may no longer be using a middleware to connect our Marketo and Netsuite instance. One of the challenges I'm facing is trying to figure out how to expose the Marketo GUID without have to pull it out from an API call. Is it stored someone where in Marketo that I can find it and I've just been missing it.

I appreciate any direction anyone can give me!

Tags (1)
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
SanfordWhiteman
Level 10 - Community Moderator

Re: marketoGUID

It's overly general, really, to talk about "Opportunities" alone.

Opportunities are one level away from leads in Marketo (as in most CRMs): they have a many-to-many relationship with leads and will not show up at the lead level unless there is at least one row in the Opportunity Role cross-reference (junction) table to bind the Lead table and Opportunity table together. Oppty Roles and Oppties have separate REST API endpoints. When you view an Opportunity via the Marketo UI or via Velocity, you're seeing a synthetic view that comprises both tables, with some fields taken from each table (for example, the Role is in the Opportunity Role table, while the Description is in the Opportunity table).

What I think you're driving at w/r/t the marketoGUID not being "exposed" is that you don't see it in the Marketo UI (nor, sometimes just as important, do you see it in the Velocity scripting context). This is unfortunately true, but what I've done to work around it is append the externalOpportunityId to the name of the Opportunity, so it shows in the UI:

pastedImage_0.png

You could do the same with the marketoGUID upon Opportunity creation, but it takes an extra API call that way.