Using Dynamic Landing Pages for Google Ads

Aelia_Haider
Level 2

Using Dynamic Landing Pages for Google Ads

Hi, a newbie here.

I just wanted to know if there was any way that I could use dynamic landing pages for Google ads. I'm using cookies to populate the lead data fields, and I want to show different variations of the landing page for different keywords. What I'm unsure about is, if a prospect clicks on an ad and is led to a Marketo landing page with dynamic content, would the variations load automatically? I tried creating a sample page with utms but it didn't load the right variation. I may be going about this the wrong way. Can someone help?

5 REPLIES 5
SanfordWhiteman
Level 10 - Community Moderator

Re: Using Dynamic Landing Pages for Google Ads

I'm using cookies to populate the lead data fields

What cookies? This is too vague.

What I'm unsure about is, if a prospect clicks on an ad and is led to a Marketo landing page with dynamic content, would the variations load automatically?

Dynamic content is based on segmentations.

The displayed segment can be chosen in one of two ways:

• the pageview is associated with a known lead in Marketo that belongs to a given segment
  • the pageview contains a segmentation and segment name hard-coded in the query string, yourSegmentName=Segment

If the pageview is neither associated with a known lead nor contains segment info in the URL, the default content is shown.

Aelia_Haider
Level 2

By cookies, I meant that I'm capturing the info like campaign, keywords etc. from cookie values, not URL or referrer parameters. I mentioned this because I wasn't sure if that would affect the display of the required variation of the landing page.

Since I'll be capturing new leads, the first option for the displayed segment won't be valid in this case.

The second option seems like the way to go. So, to clarify: