Re: Using Custom Objects in Marekto to Trigger Emails to Leads

Laura_Lynch
Level 1

Using Custom Objects in Marekto to Trigger Emails to Leads

Hi Everyone - hoping someone with more Marketo expertise can help me better understand how to use custom object triggers to send emails to our customers.  I'm relatively new to Marketo myself and have never used custom object before.  Here is the situation: 

• We will be pushing product data nightly into Marketo using Census (API).  Our customers can create & host virtual events in our product and our marketing team wants to send a recap email to the person who is hosting each event after those events happen.  We will be syncing in "event created date", "host email", and "event date" as part of the details on the custom object.
  • Each lead or person can create and host multiple events on the same day and should receive 1 email for each event that they have including recap/analysis. (data will be on custom object)  So if a person had 5 virtual events yesterday, they should receive 5 separate recap/analysis emails - one for each event. 

I've read over using triggers on custom objects and using custom object to create smartlists for a scheduled recurring batch, but I'm not sure how to approach set-up to make sure all our emails are sent appropriately.  

I'd love any recommendations and advice!!

Thanks!

3 REPLIES 3
SanfordWhiteman
Level 10 - Community Moderator

• So if a person had 5 virtual events yesterday, they should receive 5 separate recap/analysis emails - one for each event. 

This is good, because the opposite requirement — everyone gets a single email with all their objects created in a time period — is very hard to get right.

Just trigger on Added to {Custom Object Name}. 

You will also need to use a Velocity {{my.token}} ("Email Script" token) to output the data from the ${TriggerObject} (Marketo sets the special variable ${TriggerObject} to the object that triggered the flow, which is very convenient!).