Tracking List Rental Success

Anonymous
Not applicable

Tracking List Rental Success

I'm new to Marketo, but have been using Eloqua (E9) for about 4 years. I have a list rental coming up in a few days that I have to turn the creative in for. I'm trying to figure out the best way to track the success from the spend. Few pieces of details that I think are relevent:
  1. My landing page was built on our website with the progressive profile form iFramed. I'm not sure why we are doing it this way, but for now I'm on a tight timeframe to turn this around and had to go with their existing process. 
  2. Support told me to just add hidden fields to the form that would pull from the query string. However, I don't want to automatically overwrite the lead source for a contact we already have, I only want it updated Lead Source if the contact is new. 
  3. I ultimately need to know two things: How many people download the asset as a result of the list rental and if any of those contacts result in opportunities being created. 
At this point, I cannot build another landing page before I have to turn in the creative. We were working wth our Marketo Consultant, he suggested listening campaigns (I THINK?) as a potential solution. WIth E9 we were simiply leveraging form data with a field that was form specific that didn't roll to the contact record by default. However, Marketo doesn't have "form data" so I think I need to create some kind of static list for these people that then map to a SF Campaign? I'm just sure how to go about doing that... or if there's a better way to track it. 

Also - If it matters, we just upgraded from Spark to Standard. 

All advice would be greatly appreciated! 
Tags (1)
4 REPLIES 4
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Tracking List Rental Success

Hi Sherrie,

First, you can setup field update rules that will prevent Lead Source from being overwritten. It will only be updated if its currently NULL based on a net-new lead.