Re: Script for extracting all Lead Activities via Rest API?

Anonymous
Not applicable

Script for extracting all Lead Activities via Rest API?

Looking for some help in getting a script that will extract all out Lead Activities. I've been successful in manually retrieving the data​ as a test, however our Lead Database has 120k customers. I'm trying to get Send Email, Open Email, Click Email plus more for at least 8 different sends, this could easily be 1.2M+ rows in total data. Obviously this is not feasible to do manually given the 300 record limit per API call. I'm also aware of the 10k API calls a day limit.

At the moment, I'm doing:

https://<endpoint>.mktorest.com/rest/v1/activities.json?access_token=<access_token>&nextPageToken=<n...

I'm not a developer but do have basic to intermediate programming skills. Is there any sort of script out there (no script language preference) that I can modify and use for my purposes to extract all the Lead Activities?

5 REPLIES 5
Anonymous
Not applicable

Actually Python is now the preferred scripting language as I've had that installed!

SanfordWhiteman
Level 10 - Community Moderator

Question should be in Products, not Community ("Community" here refers to the portal app itself, not the user community. Yes, it is confusing.)

300 * 10,000 = 3 million.  So in fact you can download those 1.2MM rows per day by iterating over the batches of 300, updating the token (which amounts to a database cursor) every turn of the loop -- provided that is the only thing you're using the API for.  The problem with the 10,000-call daily limit is when you need more than 3MM rows per day from a single integration, or you have a range of unmetered integrations, one or a combination of which could suck up all 10,000, representing a DoS against all the others.