Marketo Database Commit Lags

Pam_Hudadoff2
Level 1

Marketo Database Commit Lags

I have recently been corresponding a lot with Marketo support/engineering about significant lags in database commits that are wrecking havoc with our smart campaign operations.   The final response from product management and engineering is that this lag is acceptable, add a wait step.  First, the recommendation for the wait step was 2 minutes.  But I was finding lags of 10 minutes.   Then, the recommendation for the wait step became 10 minutes.  

I have been designing Marketo instances for clients for the past 9 years and have found this lag behavior to be surprising.   I suspect that you will too once you understand the implications.  

First, the issue.  Database commits for fields and segmentations from activities such as new lead creation and form completion are lagging behind their activity triggers.   What this means is that the trigger happens before the data associated with it is committed to the Marketo database.  We have found lags as long as 10 minutes so far.   This all happens under-the-covers which means that lags greater than that could easily go unnoticed.  You would only see it in finding issues in the results of this behavior.

Let me illustrate with a couple of examples:

1. A new lead is created in Marketo from Salesforce.   
    • We have smart campaign logic that processes the lead differently if their GDPR segmentation is one value or another value.  We have a conditional flow step with conditions that have Segmentation = segment 1, do A.  Segmentation = Segment 2, do B.   
    • We use a simple Person is Created trigger. 
    • When the smart campaign flow processing reaches the flow step with the segmentation choice/condition, the segmentation value hasn't been written to the database.   There is NO value for the segmentation when it hits the flow step.   And there may not be a value for 10 minutes (or maybe more)
  2. A lead fills out a form.