Marketo Custom Objects for Business Units?

chanjay
Level 1

Marketo Custom Objects for Business Units?

Hi, I work in banking industry that has few business units (residential lending, community banking, etc.). It is common for our business to have multiple accounts attached to a single email address. Also the same email address may have different names in other accounts.  Do you think creating Custom Objects for the business units fits this use case? Thanks.

hc.

3 REPLIES 3
SanfordWhiteman
Level 10 - Community Moderator

Re: Marketo Custom Objects for Business Units?

There's nothing in your description so far that suggests Custom Objects are a bad fit.

But you haven't provided enough information to be sure either way.

What are the intended uses of this account-lead relationship within Marketo? How exactly will accounts be used in Smart Lists? In Segmentations? How will they be displayed (in emails and/or in LPs)? Reported on? All of these dictate the best data model.

chanjay
Level 1

Hi Sanford, thanks for the reply. We intend to use this mostly for marketing/operational emails, newsletters, nurture campaigns, social media, & possibly mobile app/sms marketing as well in the future. Our leads will come from Marketo forms, CRM, & social media integration. For reporting, we would like to have visibility on each department marketing campaign performances. I hope I answered your questions thoroughly 🙂 Thanks again.

hc. 

SanfordWhiteman
Level 10 - Community Moderator

Sorry, I'm afraid that really isn't enough information.  I was looking for the specific Marketo platform action features: where the objects are output (emails and web pages), Segmentations,  trigger and batch Smart Campaigns, how you expect to incorporate COs into canned Reports and into Smart List pseudo-reports.