Java Script to make PDF load when land on Landing Page

Sara_Underwood
Level 2

Java Script to make PDF load when land on Landing Page

Hi all,

My team wants to be able to provide a PDF via their own emails (not using MSI/Marketo) that will still allow us to track in Marketo. They don't want a form and they don't want them to have to do two clicks, one in the email and one on the landing page. They just want the PDF to load once someone lands on the landing page. So I thought that I could create a landing page so we can track people who view it, and put some script on the landing page that lets the PDF load after landing on the landing page.

Is this possible? Can anyone help me with the script? I've been searching and can't find anything! I'm not a developer and unfortunately, I don't know any coding.

Thanks in advance for any help!

Sara

11 REPLIES 11
Josh_Hill13
Level 10 - Champion Alumni

Re: Java Script to make PDF load when land on Landing Page

Sara,

Yes, you would need a developer to provide the script. I've done this before where the form fill leads to an auto pop up. We found this led to complications with expected behaviors (like most people know they are going to next steps, not the pdf) and tracking.

From the description of your use case, I would recommend uploading the PDF to any server, provide THAT *.pdf link to the email and record the click.

Now, if sales are sending out emails in outlook or Gmail, you can have them install the MSI plugin that just lets them track things w minimal interference.

Unfortunately, if you really want to go to the LP experience that forces a pdf to pop up, you will need javascript and some people who turn off javascript (rare these days) will not get the pdf properly. Again, I do not recommend this because it doesn't work well.

Sara_Underwood
Level 2