SOLVED

Re: GDPR - What are you doing to prepare?

Go to solution
Mark_Knight
Level 3

I am not a lawyer, i am a marketer who has been studying UK ICO guidance and other sources to learn how GDPR will will affect our handling of personal data related to Marketing within our company.

From my readings, the opt-in or out requirement for email marketing to B2B market has not yet been fully defined. The wording is not prescriptive and neither is current guidance. I agree that the current UK position is that opt-out is the norm. BUT, Germany have i am led to believe, stated that it will need to be opt-in. And as PECR and GDPR will need to adhere to the one central EU standard, rather than the current national standard, it is thought that SHOULD the UK interpretation (OUT) ever be tested in the EU courts it could be challenged as a higher standard exists, and therefore legally vulnerable. ie prepare for opt-in requirements for Email B2B marketing, as well as opt-in consent to actually store marketing data, though i realise there are 5 other definitions under which personal data can be stored without consent being required.

What concerns me is the scope of GDPR is not understood.

- A data controller or processor WITHIN the EU protects ALL DATA SUBJECTS REGARDLESS of their nationality, residency, location and place of processing

- A data controller or processor NOT IN THE EU protects any data subject in the EU where processing relates to offering goods or services (MARKETING) or monitoring behavior which takes place in the union

I can imagine it will come as a shock to any non-EU marketing team to learn that they need to handling personal data under guidelines determined by European Law, and that failure to do so 'could potentially' result in either fines of 4% group turnover, or €20m - whichever is higher... though quite how all of this will be policed outside of EU.

Dan_Stevens_
Level 10 - Champion Alumni