Re: GDPR Enforcement in the U.S. ?

Betsy_Landon1
Level 2

GDPR Enforcement in the U.S. ?

Can anyone provide information about (or provide a link to) how GDPR will be enforced in the U.S.?

I work for a small company with one location in the U.S. Our customers are located in the U.S. only. Sales does not pursue prospects located outside of the U.S.

People from around the world visit our website and submit forms to access gated content.

Just to be clear - my question is not about compliance. It's about enforcement, especially given my company scenario.

Tags (3)
8 REPLIES 8
Nicholas_Manojl
Level 9

I'm not a lawyer (nor do I want to be) but it appears to me that you are not affected by the scope of the legislation and there is therefore nothing to enforce.

But that's only prima facie based on that one paragraph you wrote. Maybe you have other factors that do require you to comply. That will require real advice from someone qualified to give advice.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi Betsy,

I was explained in a GDPR training session that:

- If a non E.U. data controller is managing personal data of a person from outside the E.U. that is outside the E.U. the moment the communication takes place, GDPR does not apply.

- If a non E.U. data controller is managing personal data of a person from outside the E.U. that is in the E.U. the moment the communication takes place, GDPR does apply.

- If a non E.U. data controller is managing personal data of a person from the E.U. that is outside the E.U. the moment the communication takes place, GDPR does not apply.

- If a non E.U. data controller is managing personal data of a person from the E.U. that is in the E.U. the moment the communication takes place, GDPR does apply.

GDPR for data controllers managing personal data applies based on where the person IS, rather than where the person is from.